Virtual Reality/Augmented Reality content creation resources

In 2016, BIG launched the first public virtual reality (VR) lab in the country, the Public VR Lab. We’re dedicated to facilitating community content creation for these new mediums, VR, Augmented Reality (AR) and 360 videos. We launched the VR Academy in the fall of 2016 and offer Unity classes covering the basics of C# and 3D content creation for VR. Sign up for classes here.

Become a BIG member and learn how to make room reservations here.

We provide a wide selection of 360 video cameras, equipment, and training for the community, and beyond Brookline in customized training, demos, toolkits and content creation expertise for journalists, municipalities, libraries and community media centers. Below are some useful resources to help get started with content creation in these new immersive media formats.

Virtual Reality

Medium.com VR your new storytelling opportunity

HTC Vive Unity Beginner Tutorial

Augmented Reality

How to make an Augmented reality App

360 Video

Choosing the right 360 video camera

VR & AR Headsets

HTC Vive (Available at BIG)

Oculus Rift

Google Daydream

Google Cardboard (Available at BIG)

Samsung Gear VR (Available at BIG)

Microsoft HoloLense

Google Glass

VR/AR Engines for creating VR Experiences

Unity

Unreal Engine

A-Frame(Web VR)

CryEngine

Content Creation Resources

360 Video

360 Cameras

Web VR

Cardboard VR Apps for Apple iPhone and Android Devices (courtesy of http://immersiveeducation.org/vr)

Android Apps LINK TO INSTALL
Crossy VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=cardboard.crossy&hl=en
Final Kick VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.ivanovichgames.finalkickVR&hl=en
Fish Schooling VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.doubledigital.fishschooling
Google Cardboard https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.samples.apps.cardboarddemo
Google Cardboard Camera https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.vr.cyclops
Google Expeditions https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.google.vr.expeditions&hl=en
Jurassic VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.lunagames.jurassicvr&hl=en
JurassicLand https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.NeosunGame.jurassic&hl=en
Lamper https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.archiactinteractive.LfGC
Orbulus https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.VRCraftworks.Orbulus
Solar System VR https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.TrollLabs.SolarSystemVR
Space Rustlers https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.dubitlimited.spacerustlers&hl=en
Stone Age Snap https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.firstplayable.stoneagesnap_vr&hl=en
Tuscany Dive https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.FabulousPixel.TuscanyDive
Village https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=org.androidworks.villagevr.villagevr
VR Cave Flythrough https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.frag.vrcaveflythrough
VR Cosmic Roller Coaster https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.Cosmic.rollercoaster
VR Craft Demo https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=google.cardboard.craft
Wizard Academy https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.realiteer.wizardacademyvrcardboard&hl=en
Zombie Pirates https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.waphoo.vr.zombie

 

iPhone Apps LINK TO INSTALL
Crazy Swing VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/crazy-swing-vr/id935702116?mt=8
Crossy VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vr-street-jump-for-google-cardboard/id1033803652?mt=8
Dinosaurs Everywhere https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dinosaurs-everywhere!-jurassic/id660029727?mt=8
Dive City Rollercoaster https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/dive-city-rollercoaster/id771293168?mt=8
Final Kick VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/final-kick-vr-virtual-reality-free-soccer-game-for/id1085096375?mt=8
Froggy VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/froggy-vr/id935702391?mt=8
Google Cardboard https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/google-cardboard/id987962261?mt=8
Google Cardboard Camera https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cardboard-camera/id1095487294?mt=8
Google Expeditions https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/expeditions/id1131711060?mt=8
Jurassic VR https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jurassic-virtual-reality-vr/id958174054?mt=8
JurassicLand https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/jurassic-virtual-reality-vr/id958174054?mt=8
Lamper https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/lamper-vr/id959758523?mt=8
Moorente https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/moorente/id820348776?mt=8
Space Rustlers https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/space-rustlers-vr-flying-game/id1068906049?mt=8
Stereoscopic Tunnel Effect https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stereoscopic-tunnel-effect/id658276824?mt=8
Stone Age Snap https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stone-age-snap-vr/id1073216199?mt=8
The Height https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/the-height/id764996957?mt=8
Virtual Easter https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/virtual-easter-for-google/id980944041?mt=8
Wizard Academy https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/wizard-academy-vr-cardboard/id1047802252?mt=8
Zombie Pirates https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/zombie-pirates-google-cardboard-vr-shooter/id1120125818?mt=8

Content Creation tools for AR/VR

https://aframe.io/aframe-school/#/

https://unity3d.com/learn

https://haptic.al/arcore-101-fa6f93d4c003

https://developers.google.com/ar/develop/unity/quickstart

General Resources and Reading

The Future of VR/AR/360

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/11/06/magazine/want-to-know-what-virtual-reality-might-become-look-to-the-past.html

http://linkis.com/washingtonpost.com/4bcGn

Storytelling in VR/AR

https://medium.com/journalism360/vr-your-new-storytelling-opportunity-1518cc1468c2#.ws1acs3t8

Early Research Showing Benefits of VR in Healthcare

http://abcnews.go.com/Technology/treating-ptsd-virtual-reality-therapy-heal-trauma/story?id=38742665

RELATED iED LEARNING TECHNOLOGIES